Mommy Guilt

Mommy guilt is insidious.  It shows up even when you’re not looking.  Not unlike so many mothers out there, I suffer from mommy guilt.  It seems to be triggered by having “needs.  You see, in the real world, mommy’s aren’t  supposed to have these “needs” and once we admit we do, the guilt starts creeping in…

Things that precipitate mommy guilt:

  •  Despite the pediatrician’s recommendation, you supplement your breast milk with formula at night so that you can get a night’s sleep!
  • You know you put your child’s library books “somewhere,” but you can’t seem to find them. Your child gets reamed out by the library teacher for losing his books-  AGAIN!
  • You have multiple children and you find it difficult to divide up your attention. You find yourself wondering if it is because you like one child more than the other.
  • It is “stuffie day” at school on Thursday. Your child is the only one who shows up without one.
  • You don’t take the time to tie your child’s sneakers properly and he falls 5 times during pee-wee soccer.
  • Your child has a severe dust allergy, and you haven’t cleaned the house in 3 weeks.
  • It’s 10 degrees and your child goes to school without a hat or mittens.
  • You are eating your favorite sandwich and your child really wants a bite. You tell him it’s super hot and spicy so you don’t have to share with him.
  • Your child doesn’t know his spelling words, but he does know every line of his favorite movie.
  • Your child’s class is having a holiday party and you are the only parent whose name isn’t on the sign up list.
  • Your child wears the same pants three days in a row because you didn’t have enough time to do the laundry.
  • Your child is far more familiar with a french fry than a vegetable.
  • The thing you say most often to your child is “wait just a minute.”
  • The second thing you say most often to your child is “hurry up!”

Check back tomorrow for ways to erase the mommy guilt!

12 thoughts on “Mommy Guilt

  1. Nice post! You are telling true things here but, and apopogise me if I tell this, I don’t think most of these are “guilt”…after all we are all humans :).
    I really enjoied reading your words!

    Like

  2. This is great! As Bug is only 8 months old some of these do not apply to me, but some of my “guilts” are letting her cry a little bit because it is 4 pm and all I have had all day is one bottle of water, getting up early to run on the treadmill and get a shower, you take your baby grocery shopping in 10 degrees while everyone tells you that you should have stayed home because it’s too cold for a baby, but you have no one to watch her and you are down to one days worth of formula and food for yourself! This is great and I know we all have our own “guilts”, I can’t wait to hear how you overcome the guilt!

    Like

  3. I think we all can relate on some level! I find for me it’s the more parenting books I read, the more things I think of that I ‘should’ be doing..now I’m learning to glean what I need & move on 🙂

    Thanks so much for linking up with us on this week’s Mom 2 Mom Encouragement Party! I hope you join us again for the next one 🙂

    Rachael @ Diamonds in the Rough

    Like

Leave a comment