Reindeer Cupcakes

Today,  I spent the day baking based on what each of my three kids had requested they wanted to bring in for their holiday parties.  All of the boys seemed firm on their decision.  My “quiet” boy  wanted reindeer cupcakes, my”youngest boy” wanted sugar cookies,  my “oldest boy” wanted reindeer hot cocoa . This afternoon, when they came home from school, they saw me decorating the reindeer cupcakes and they decided they ALL wanted the cupcakes instead of their original requests….ughhhh!   Even my 6th grader, who  had decided he didn’t want anything this year, decided he “needed” these cupcakes! Were these cupcakes now cool enough even for a middle schooler? Perhaps.   Now I have to bake 45 more!!!

IMG_8645-2You will need:

One box of chocolate or yellow cake mix – I prefer the super moist kind!
Cinnamon red dots (eyes)
Mini marshmallows (eyes)
Mini pretzels (antlers)
Chocolate frosting
Black decorators gel (pupils)
Cupcake liners
Vanilla wafers (nose)

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degree per cake mix instructions.

Line cupcake baking sheet with paper liners – you can use some fun colors for the holidays.

Mix ingredients of the cake mix and pour into the cupcake liners about 3/4 of the way full.

Bake according to the cake mix instructions.

Remove and cool.  I cool mine completely down to room temperature before frosting, otherwise; the cake might crumble.

Frost the top of the cupcakes with chocolate frosting.  This will make the reindeer’s face.

Place one vanilla wafer on top (lower half) of the cupcake ( See photo).

Place one red cinnamon dot in the center of the vanilla wafer. This will make the reindeer’s nose.  I use a little frosting as glue – sticks great!

Place 2 mini marshmallows (cut in half) above the vanilla wafers spacing a tiny bit a part (see photo) for the eyes.

Using the black decorators gel make a dot on each marshmallow (pupils).  I like to put on a little extra for the googly eye effect.

Finally, place 2 mini pretzels on the top of the reindeer’s head (see photo).  Space them slightly apart and angle them according to your liking.

This is a recipe you can find on Pinterest and probably a lot of other places too, I decided to tweak it a bit.

Finally, adorable reindeer cupcakes your kids are sure to fight over – Sorry!!!  I guess I just want you to feel my pain 🙂

Happy Holidays!!!
signature

Leave a Reply

