Introduction

Greetings and welcome to my blog!

I am a wife and a mother of 5 children, one of whom is a child with both medical and developmental special needs. I have just finished a graduate degree in clinical psychology, where I commuted from Maine to D.C on a weekly basis. Do I sound crazy yet?? I attended graduate school, where my cohorts were half my age. They referred to me as their “hero” and were perplexed about how I could possibly have five children and commute 500 miles to class. My son, Sam, who had already spent a handful of years struggling with his chronic condition, became deathly ill just one year into the program. I’m not sure how, but with faith and determination, I continued on with the program, and graduated successfully.

I have not been a writer outside of the clinical realm, and am brand new to the blogging world. I tend to be an open, honest and candid person. I am passionate about a chance to share my experiences (and mistakes) and how I have learned to approach major dilemmas and still keep my sense of humor. I am far from perfect and am a believer of “everyone does the best they can.” Caring for a child with medical needs is a very scary and unsettling place to be, but understanding that you are not alone and focusing on the positive is of great comfort.

I will be posting mommy reviews, mommy moments (good and bad), sharing the day-to-day things we go through as a family, and also the in-depth experiences of being the parent of a child with a life-threatening condition. I will do my best to provide you with advice and insight wherever possible. Of course, I will posting yummy recipes from time to time as well as cute photos of my kiddos along the way!

signature

div id=”MTk4ODA=”>

http://5littlemonkeys.me/